What this entry found
- OUTLETS DISAGREE
Date of the trial conviction
- nytimes.com: 'August 19'
- turkiyetoday.com: 'three days later' (August 19 implied but not stated)
- ONE SOURCE, MANY MASTHEADS
5 outlets carried this. They resolve to 4 independent sources.
A reader sampling these outlets received 4 accounts, not 5.
- ONLY ONE OUTLET HAD THIS
nytimes.com carried 6 details no other outlet reported.
- Asencio admitted to the offense during a trial at the High Court of Justice of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria on August 19
- In the separate case involving sexually explicit videos, Asencio faces two charges: allegedly distributing the video without consent and allegedly sharing a sex tape involving a minor
- Asencio will stand trial alongside three of his former Madrid youth-team teammates: Ferran Ruiz, Juan Rodriguez, and Andres Garcia
- The two alleged victims in the separate case have withdrawn their allegations against Asencio, but a preliminary hearing in July determined he would still stand trial
- Asencio has always maintained his innocence regarding the separate case
- Asencio joined Madrid's academy from Las Palmas in 2017 and made his first-team debut in 2024
Real Madrid defender Raúl Asencio, 23, was convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol in Gran Canaria on August 16. He tested at 0.90 mg/l in a breathalyzer, nearly four times the Spanish legal limit of 0.25 mg/l, and admitted to the offense in a summary trial. He was fined €14,400 and banned from driving for eight months.
Who reported it
- beinsports.comUNCLASSIFIED
- espn.com.auUNCLASSIFIED
- espn.inUNCLASSIFIED
- nytimes.comINDEP
- turkiyetoday.comUNCLASSIFIED
References
- beinsports.comRaúl Asencio Convicted of Drunk Driving: The Penalty the Real Madrid Defender Must ServeScreenshot as publishedOriginalcaptured 2026-09-03T11:05:16
- espn.com.auReal Madrid's Raúl Asencio convicted of drink drivingScreenshot as publishedOriginalcaptured 2026-09-03T11:05:16
- espn.inReal Madrid's Raúl Asencio convicted of drink drivingScreenshot as publishedOriginalcaptured 2026-09-03T11:05:16
- nytimes.comReal Madrid’s Raul Asencio convicted of driving while four times over legal alcohol limitScreenshot as publishedOriginalcaptured 2026-09-03T11:05:16
- turkiyetoday.comReal Madrid defender convicted of drink-driving in SpainScreenshot as publishedOriginalcaptured 2026-09-03T11:05:16
Carried by multiple outlets
- Raúl Asencio is a Real Madrid defender, age 23beinsports.com, espn.com.au, espn.in, nytimes.com, turkiyetoday.com
- Asencio was convicted of driving under the influence of alcoholbeinsports.com, espn.com.au, espn.in, nytimes.com, turkiyetoday.com
- The incident occurred in Gran Canaria on August 16beinsports.com, espn.com.au, espn.in, nytimes.com, turkiyetoday.com
- Asencio was driving a Porsche Macanbeinsports.com, espn.com.au, espn.in, turkiyetoday.com
- Asencio tested at 0.90 mg/l in the first breathalyzer test and 0.88 mg/l in the secondbeinsports.com, espn.com.au, espn.in, nytimes.com, turkiyetoday.com
- The legal alcohol limit in Spain is 0.25 mg/lbeinsports.com, espn.com.au, espn.in, nytimes.com
- and 6 more, not shown
Reported by one outlet only
- The incident occurred on the GC-1 highway in the municipality of San Bartolomé de Tirajana, and no crash or other road incident was reportedonly beinsports.com
- A reading above 0.60 mg/l in Spain can constitute a criminal offense against road safety, which is why the case entered the judicial system rather than remaining an administrative violationonly beinsports.com
- Real Madrid declined to comment when contacted by ESPNonly espn.com.au, espn.in
- Asencio is expected to return to the team in mid-Septemberonly espn.com.au, espn.in
- The checkpoint was at 6:30 a.m. CET on August 16only espn.com.au, espn.in
- The conviction was confirmed by a spokesperson from the press office of Gran Canaria's High Court of Justice on Wednesdayonly espn.com.au, espn.in
Reported unevenly
- How many times the legal limit Asencio's alcohol level wasstated by espn.com.au: 'four times the legal limit', espn.in: 'four times the legal limit', nytimes.com: 'almost four times the legal limit' · absent from beinsports.com: does not use 'times the limit' language, turkiyetoday.com: does not use 'times the limit' language
- Date of the trial convictionstated by nytimes.com: 'August 19', turkiyetoday.com: 'three days later' (August 19 implied but not stated) · absent from beinsports.com: does not specify trial date, espn.com.au: does not specify trial date, only refers to 'summary trial', espn.in: does not specify trial date, only refers to 'summary trial'




