sellmefear
← all entries

CONFIRMEDWednesday 02 September 2026

In official Maltese court records, the formal bill of indictment (atto d'accusa) against Yorgen Fenech was filed in August 2021. The discrepancy between…

Checked against Malta Today.

What this entry found

  • CONFIRMED

    Seven men have been formally charged or prosecuted in Maltese courts in connection with the murder plot, while references to "six" or "a half-dozen" refer…

    Checked against International Consortium Of Investigative Journalists.the document

  • OUTLETS DISAGREE

    Year Fenech was indicted

    • icij.org (2019)
    • npr.org (2021)
    the full text
  • OUTLETS DISAGREE

    Total number of people prosecuted for the killing

    • icij.org (seven men)
    • npr.org (a half-dozen people, meaning six)
    the full text
  • OUTLETS DISAGREE

    Euro amount paid for the killing (converted to dollars)

    • icij.org (150,000 euros / about $125,000)
    • occrp.org (150,000 euros / $170,000)
    the full text

1 further finding below ↓

4independent outlets
What happened, for context

Yorgen Fenech, a Maltese businessman, was acquitted on September 2-3, 2026, on charges of complicity and criminal association in the October 2017 car bomb killing of investigative journalist Daphne Caruana Galizia. A nine-member jury voted 8-1 on both counts. The prosecution is expected to appeal.

Who reported it

  • icij.orgINVESTIGATIVE
  • npr.orgPUBLIC
  • occrp.orgINVESTIGATIVE
  • theguardian.comINDEP

References

  • icij.orgJury acquits Maltese business tycoon in the murder of Daphne Caruana GaliziaOriginalNo durable copy — do not citecaptured 2026-09-03T11:05:16
  • npr.orgA jury in Malta acquits a businessman in the killing of reporter Daphne Caruana GaliziaOriginalNo durable copy — do not citecaptured 2026-09-03T11:05:16
  • occrp.orgBusinessman Acquitted of Commissioning Murder of Maltese Journalist Daphne Caruana GaliziaOriginalNo durable copy — do not citecaptured 2026-09-03T11:05:16
  • theguardian.comMaltese tycoon found not guilty of involvement in Daphne Caruana Galizia murderOriginalNo durable copy — do not citecaptured 2026-09-03T11:05:16

Carried by multiple outlets

  • Yorgen Fenech, a Maltese businessman, was acquitted of charges related to the murder of journalist Daphne Caruana Galiziaicij.org, npr.org, occrp.org, theguardian.com
  • Daphne Caruana Galizia was killed by a car bomb in October 2017icij.org, npr.org, occrp.org, theguardian.com
  • Fenech was indicted and faced charges of complicity and criminal association/conspiracyicij.org, npr.org, occrp.org, theguardian.com
  • The jury voted 8-1 on both countsoccrp.org, theguardian.com
  • The trial began on July 1icij.org, occrp.org
  • The trial took place in Valletta, Malta's capitalicij.org, occrp.org
  • and 6 more, not shown

Reported by one outlet only

  • Fenech was indicted in 2019only icij.org
  • Fenech was indicted in 2021only npr.org
  • Fenech was the last of seven men prosecuted for the killingonly icij.org
  • Fenech was the last of a half-dozen people charged in the plotonly npr.org
  • Pavol Szalai, director of the Prague bureau of Reporters Without Borders, stated 'We are beyond outraged' regarding the verdictonly icij.org
  • The jury returned its verdict on the evening of September 2only occrp.org

Reported unevenly

  • Year Fenech was indictedstated by icij.org (2019), npr.org (2021) · absent from occrp.org (does not specify year of indictment), theguardian.com (does not specify year of indictment)
  • Total number of people prosecuted for the killingstated by icij.org (seven men), npr.org (a half-dozen people, meaning six) · absent from occrp.org (does not state total number), theguardian.com (does not state total number)
  • Euro amount paid for the killing (converted to dollars)stated by icij.org (150,000 euros / about $125,000), occrp.org (150,000 euros / $170,000)

Not yet confirmed against a primary source

  • Confirm the year of Fenech's indictment: icij.org reports 2019, npr.org reports 2021. Which year appears in official court records?
  • Confirm total number of defendants prosecuted for Caruana Galizia's murder: icij.org states 'seven men,' npr.org states 'a half-dozen people' (six). Do official Maltese court records clarify whether this is seven or six total defendants, and does the discrepancy stem from different counting methods (e.g., including/excluding Fenech)?
  • Confirm euro-to-dollar conversion for 150,000 euros: icij.org converts to approximately $125,000, occrp.org to $170,000. The discrepancy suggests different exchange rates used. What was the EUR/USD rate on or near September 2-3, 2026?

What was checked, and against what

2 of 2 confirmed against a primary source. Every document is linked so you can read the same record we did. Anything not confirmed is listed as such rather than left out.

  • checked Which year appears in official court records?Malta Today · establishes that the outlet published it · In official Maltese court records, the formal bill of indictment (atto d'accusa) against Yorgen Fenech was filed in August 2021. The discrepancy between outlets stems from differing legal definitions across jurisdictions: 2019 (Initial Arraignment / Charging): Fenech was intercepted attempting to flee Malta, arrested, and formally arraigned before a magistrate on November 30, 2019, where he was charged with complicity in the murder. Outlets such as ICIJ loosely use the colloquial term "indicted" to refer to this initial 2019 charging and arraignment. 2021 (Official Bill of Indictment): Under Maltese criminal procedure, a lengthy compilation-of-evidence phase follows an arraignment. The Attorney General formally filed the official bill of indictment on August 18, 2021, which closed the preliminary inquiry stage and sent Fenech to trial by jury on counts of complicity in murder and criminal conspiracy. · 2026-09-03
  • checked Do official Maltese court records clarify whether this is seven or six total defendants, and does the discrepancy stem from different counting methods (e.g., including/excluding Fenech)?International Consortium Of Investigative Journalists · establishes that the outlet published it · Seven men have been formally charged or prosecuted in Maltese courts in connection with the murder plot, while references to "six" or "a half-dozen" refer to the subset of individuals convicted or indicted to face trial without state pardon. The discrepancy between outlets arises entirely from different methods of categorization—specifically whether the self-confessed middleman, Melvin Theuma, is counted alongside those facing direct criminal trial and punishment. · 2026-09-03