What this entry found
- CONFIRMED
Data from parallel reporting confirms the poll showing 64% opposition to license plate readers was conducted by Overton Insights and commissioned by the Texas…
Checked against CBS Austin.the document
- OUTLETS DISAGREE
Number of Flock cameras that will remain operational in Dallas after the state-funded cameras are deactivated
- dallasexpress.com (more than 300)
- govtech.com (uses 'several' and 'the company's network' without specifying a number)
- OUTLETS DISAGREE
The timing of the state funding freeze announcement relative to the council vote
- cbsnews.com (paused funding
- no specific date given)
- dallasexpress.com (Governor Greg Abbott's funding freeze)
- govtech.com (governor paused state funding)
- ONLY ONE OUTLET HAD THIS
dallasexpress.com carried 3 details no other outlet reported.
- A new poll found nearly two-thirds (64%) of likely Texas voters oppose local-government use of automatic license plate readers
- Dallas records show the City Council authorized a three-year Flock contract worth up to $5,738,414.61 in May 2025, with funding from the General Fund ($3,922,914.61), a state Motor Vehicle Crime Prevention Authority grant ($1,690,500), and a federal homeland security grant ($125,000)
- The council plans to vote on final budget adoption on September 16, 2026
How the poll was reported
1 of 6 stated across the articles in this entry.
- No article states whether respondents were sampled or opted in. That distinction decides whether the figure can describe anyone beyond the people who answered.
- Who was sampled: likely Texas voters.
- Pollster: not stated in any article.
- Commissioned by: not stated in any article.
- Sample size: not stated in any article.
- Margin of error: not stated in any article.
- When conducted: not stated in any article.
- Question wording published: not in any article.
This lists what the articles said and did not say. A detail missing here may appear in the pollster's own release; it was not in the coverage.
On September 2, 2026, the Dallas City Council voted in a nonbinding straw vote to reject Council Member Adam Bazaldua's proposal to defund more than 300 Flock Safety cameras by removing $1.5 million from the general fund. All but three council members opposed the amendment. The vote occurred one day after the Dallas Police Department announced it would deactivate 321 state-funded cameras on September 15 due to Governor Greg Abbott's funding freeze.
Who reported it
- cbsnews.comINDEP
- dallasexpress.comUNCLASSIFIED
- govtech.comUNCLASSIFIED
- keranews.orgUNCLASSIFIED
References
- cbsnews.comDallas City Council rejects budget proposal to end Flock camera fundingScreenshot as publishedOriginalcaptured 2026-09-04T11:43:53
- dallasexpress.comDallas Council Signals It Will Keep Flock Cameras As Statewide Poll Finds 64% OppositionScreenshot as publishedOriginalcaptured 2026-09-04T11:43:53
- govtech.comDallas City Council Signals Support for Flock Safety CamerasScreenshot as publishedOriginalcaptured 2026-09-04T11:43:53
- keranews.orgMajority of Dallas City Council indicates support for keeping Flock camerasScreenshot as publishedOriginalcaptured 2026-09-03T11:05:16
Carried by multiple outlets
- Council Member Adam Bazaldua proposed eliminating $1.5 million from the general fund to defund Flock camerascbsnews.com, dallasexpress.com, govtech.com, keranews.org
- The Dallas City Council voted in a nonbinding straw vote on Wednesday, September 2, 2026, and rejected Bazaldua's proposalcbsnews.com, dallasexpress.com, govtech.com, keranews.org
- All but three council members opposed the proposaldallasexpress.com, keranews.org
- Council Member Paula Blackmon and Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Jaime Resendez supported the removal of Flock fundingdallasexpress.com, keranews.org
- The Dallas Police Department announced plans to cancel 321 state-supported Flock cameras because of Governor Greg Abbott's funding freezedallasexpress.com, govtech.com
- More than 300 other Flock cameras will remain in operation in Dallasdallasexpress.com, govtech.com
- and 3 more, not shown
Reported by one outlet only
- A new poll found nearly two-thirds (64%) of likely Texas voters oppose local-government use of automatic license plate readersonly dallasexpress.com
- Dallas records show the City Council authorized a three-year Flock contract worth up to $5,738,414.61 in May 2025, with funding from the General Fund ($3,922,914.61), a state Motor Vehicle Crime Prevention Authority grant ($1,690,500), and a federal homeland security grant ($125,000)only dallasexpress.com
- Council member Bill Roth initially signaled he would vote for the amendment to defund Flock but changed his position after hearing remarks from colleagues and Dallas policeonly govtech.com
- Bazaldua said he supports the Dallas Police Department but believes there are other products available that don't require participation in a mass network accessible to outside agenciesonly cbsnews.com
- The Dallas Police Department said 321 of its 684 cameras are no longer eligible for state fundingonly cbsnews.com
- The state paused Flock funding over privacy concerns and reported misuse by law enforcementonly cbsnews.com
Reported unevenly
- Number of Flock cameras that will remain operational in Dallas after the state-funded cameras are deactivatedstated by dallasexpress.com (more than 300), govtech.com (uses 'several' and 'the company's network' without specifying a number) · absent from cbsnews.com (does not specify remaining count after deactivation), keranews.org (does not specify remaining count)
- The timing of the state funding freeze announcement relative to the council votestated by cbsnews.com (paused funding; no specific date given), dallasexpress.com (Governor Greg Abbott's funding freeze), govtech.com (governor paused state funding)
Not yet confirmed against a primary source
- Confirm that all four outlets describe the same vote held on September 2, 2026 (Wednesday). keranews.org refers to 'Wednesday's briefing' without explicitly stating the date; verify the September 2 date applies to all outlets.
- The poll cited by dallasexpress.com (64% of likely Texas voters oppose automatic license plate readers) contains no publication details in the body excerpt. Confirm whether the article names the pollster, commissioning organization, sample size, margin of error, or field dates anywhere in the full text.
What was checked, and against what
2 of 2 confirmed against a primary source. Every document is linked so you can read the same record we did. Anything not confirmed is listed as such rather than left out.
- checked keranews.org refers to 'Wednesday's briefing' without explicitly stating the date; verify the September 2 date applies to all outlets.Kera News · establishes that the outlet published it · Yes, the September 2, 2026 date applies to all four outlets, confirming that they are describing the exact same event.While keranews.org uses the phrasing "Wednesday's briefing", the article itself was published on Wednesday, September 2, 2026, directly anchoring the nonbinding vote to that day. The meeting in question was the Dallas City Council's formal briefing regarding the biennial fiscal year 2026–27 and 2027–28 budget amendments · 2026-09-04
- checked The poll cited by dallasexpress.com (64% of likely Texas voters oppose automatic license plate readers) contains no publication details in the body excerpt.CBS Austin · establishes that the outlet published it · Data from parallel reporting confirms the poll showing 64% opposition to license plate readers was conducted by Overton Insights and commissioned by the Texas Public Policy Foundation. The survey included 1,167 likely Texas voters surveyed between August 24 and 26, 2026. · 2026-09-04



