What this entry found
- CONFIRMED
Data from parallel reporting confirms the poll showing 64% opposition to license plate readers was conducted by Overton Insights and commissioned by the Texas…
Checked against CBS Austin.the document
- OUTLETS DISAGREE
Total number of Flock cameras remaining after state-funded cameras are deactivated
- cbsnews.com (says 'more than 300' will remain after 321 are deactivated from 684 total)
- dallasexpress.com (says 'more than 300' will remain)
- ONLY ONE OUTLET HAD THIS
dallasexpress.com carried 4 details no other outlet reported.
- A new poll found 64% of likely Texas voters oppose local-government use of automatic license plate readers
- Dallas records show the City Council authorized a three-year Flock contract worth up to $5,738,414.61 in May 2025, funded by $3,922,914.61 from the General Fund, $1,690,500 from a state Motor Vehicle Crime Prevention Authority grant fund, and $125,000 from a federal homeland security grant
- Flock's cameras will be deactivated on September 15, 2026
- A final budget vote is scheduled for September 16, 2026
How the poll was reported
1 of 6 stated across the articles in this entry.
- No article states whether respondents were sampled or opted in. That distinction decides whether the figure can describe anyone beyond the people who answered.
- Who was sampled: likely Texas voters.
- Pollster: not stated in any article.
- Commissioned by: not stated in any article.
- Sample size: not stated in any article.
- Margin of error: not stated in any article.
- When conducted: not stated in any article.
- Question wording published: not in any article.
This lists what the articles said and did not say. A detail missing here may appear in the pollster's own release; it was not in the coverage.
The Dallas City Council held a nonbinding straw vote on September 2, 2026, rejecting Council Member Adam Bazaldua's proposal to eliminate $1.5 million in local funding for Flock Safety license plate reader cameras. All but three council members (Bazaldua, Paula Blackmon, and Jaime Resendez) opposed the amendment. The vote occurred one day after Dallas Police Department announced it would deactivate 321 state-funded cameras following Gov. Greg Abbott's funding freeze over privacy concerns.
Who reported it
- cbsnews.comINDEP
- dallasexpress.comUNCLASSIFIED
- govtech.comUNCLASSIFIED
- keranews.orgUNCLASSIFIED
References
- cbsnews.comDallas City Council rejects budget proposal to end Flock camera fundingScreenshot as publishedOriginalcaptured 2026-09-04T11:43:53
- dallasexpress.comDallas Council Signals It Will Keep Flock Cameras As Statewide Poll Finds 64% OppositionScreenshot as publishedOriginalcaptured 2026-09-04T11:43:53
- govtech.comDallas City Council Signals Support for Flock Safety CamerasScreenshot as publishedOriginalcaptured 2026-09-04T11:43:53
- keranews.orgMajority of Dallas City Council indicates support for keeping Flock camerasScreenshot as publishedOriginalcaptured 2026-09-03T11:05:16
Carried by multiple outlets
- Dallas City Council held a nonbinding straw vote on September 2, 2026, rejecting Council Member Adam Bazaldua's budget amendment to eliminate Flock camera fundingcbsnews.com, dallasexpress.com, govtech.com, keranews.org
- Bazaldua's proposal would have eliminated $1.5 million from the budget allocated for Flock camerascbsnews.com, dallasexpress.com, govtech.com, keranews.org
- All but three council members opposed the amendment; Bazaldua, Paula Blackmon, and Jaime Resendez voted in favordallasexpress.com, keranews.org
- The vote came one day after Dallas Police Department announced it would deactivate 321 camerascbsnews.com, dallasexpress.com, govtech.com
- The Dallas Police Department's decision to deactivate cameras followed Gov. Greg Abbott's funding freeze of state support for Flockcbsnews.com, dallasexpress.com, govtech.com
- The state paused funding for Flock over privacy concerns and reported misuse by law enforcementcbsnews.com, dallasexpress.com
- and 2 more, not shown
Reported by one outlet only
- Dallas Police Department said 321 of its 684 cameras are no longer eligible for state fundingonly cbsnews.com
- A new poll found 64% of likely Texas voters oppose local-government use of automatic license plate readersonly dallasexpress.com
- Dallas records show the City Council authorized a three-year Flock contract worth up to $5,738,414.61 in May 2025, funded by $3,922,914.61 from the General Fund, $1,690,500 from a state Motor Vehicle Crime Prevention Authority grant fund, and $125,000 from a federal homeland security grantonly dallasexpress.com
- Council member Bill Roth initially signaled he would vote for the amendment to eliminate Flock funding but changed his position after hearing remarks from colleagues and Dallas policeonly govtech.com
- Bazaldua raised concerns about the Dallas Police Department retaining Flock data for one year and how Dallas' camera network could be accessed by outside agencies, including for immigration enforcementonly govtech.com
- Bazaldua stated: 'And ultimately, it's going to come down to whether or not we believe that there's a reward that outweighs the risk that's been posed. But my argument is that there are other products out there for us to still embrace technology and still give the police department adequate tools to solve crime'only cbsnews.com
Reported unevenly
- Total number of Flock cameras remaining after state-funded cameras are deactivatedstated by cbsnews.com (says 'more than 300' will remain after 321 are deactivated from 684 total), dallasexpress.com (says 'more than 300' will remain)
What was checked, and against what
2 of 2 confirmed against a primary source. Every document is linked so you can read the same record we did. Anything not confirmed is listed as such rather than left out.
- checked keranews.org refers to 'Wednesday's briefing' without explicitly stating the date; verify the September 2 date applies to all outlets.Kera News · establishes that the outlet published it · Yes, the September 2, 2026 date applies to all four outlets, confirming that they are describing the exact same event.While keranews.org uses the phrasing "Wednesday's briefing", the article itself was published on Wednesday, September 2, 2026, directly anchoring the nonbinding vote to that day. The meeting in question was the Dallas City Council's formal briefing regarding the biennial fiscal year 2026–27 and 2027–28 budget amendments · 2026-09-04
- checked The poll cited by dallasexpress.com (64% of likely Texas voters oppose automatic license plate readers) contains no publication details in the body excerpt.CBS Austin · establishes that the outlet published it · Data from parallel reporting confirms the poll showing 64% opposition to license plate readers was conducted by Overton Insights and commissioned by the Texas Public Policy Foundation. The survey included 1,167 likely Texas voters surveyed between August 24 and 26, 2026. · 2026-09-04



