sellmefear
← all entries

THE SAME WORDS, PRINTED DIFFERENTLYSunday 06 September 2026

2 outlets quote this line 2 different ways.

cbc.ca: “I'm going to declare that the jury is deadlocked and I'm going to declare a mistrial,”; rte.ie: “At this point, I'm going to declare that the jury is deadlocked, and I'm going to declare a mistrial,”

As published

9 pages captured at the time, in each outlet's own typography. Open one to read the copy held outside the publisher's control.

Attributed to no one

Quoted verbatim from each outlet's own page. This site records what was published and who it was attributed to. It does not assess whether the claim is true.

cbsnews.com

  • "It is with a heavy heart that we report we are unable to come to a unanimous decision," the jury's note to the judge read.

named elsewhere in the same article: Kevin Reddington

dailywire.com

  • "With a heavy heart we report we cannot come to a unanimous decision," the jurors wrote in a note.

named elsewhere in the same article: Kevin Reddington; foreperson (via note)

rte.ie

  • the jury failed to reach a unanimous verdict

named elsewhere in the same article: Judge William Sullivan; Tim Cruz

What this entry found

  • THE SAME WORDS, PRINTED DIFFERENTLY

    2 outlets quote this line 2 different ways.

    • cbsnews.com: “It is with a heavy heart that we report we are unable to come to a unanimous decision,”
    • dailywire.com: “With a heavy heart we report we cannot come to a unanimous decision,”
  • CONFIRMED

    The discrepancy in the trial's duration stems from whether the count encompasses the entire judicial proceeding, from jury selection to the mistrial…

    Checked against BBC.the document

  • OUTLETS DISAGREE

    Hours of jury deliberation and number of deliberation days

    • cbsnews.com reports 'more than 36 hours' over 'seven days'
    • dailywire.com reports 'around 38 hours'
    the full text
  • OUTLETS DISAGREE

    Number of times jury reported deadlock

    • cbc.ca states 'three different times'
    • cbsnews.com states 'for a third time'
    • dailywire.com states 'for the third time'
    • rte.ie does not specify
    the full text

1 further finding below ↓

Day name corrected

The summary below named a weekday that does not match its own date. The date is as written; only the day name was recomputed from it.

  • Friday, September 5, 2026 → Saturday, September 5, 2026
  • Friday, September 5, 2026 → Saturday, September 5, 2026
  • Friday, September 5, 2026 → Saturday, September 5, 2026
10independent outlets
What happened, for context

Lindsay Clancy's murder trial ended in mistrial on Saturday, September 5, 2026, after jurors failed to reach a unanimous verdict on whether she was guilty of murdering her three children or not guilty by reason of insanity. The jury deliberated for approximately 36–38 hours over seven days. A separate event covered only by UPI: on the same day, an Illinois mother was charged with murdering her 2-year-old son; prosecutors noted she had been following the Clancy trial closely.

Who reported it

  • upi.comWIRE
  • bbc.co.ukPUBLIC
  • cbc.caPUBLIC
  • cbsnews.comINDEP
  • dailymail.comINDEP
  • dailywire.comPARTISAN
  • foxnews.comINDEP
  • rte.iePUBLIC
  • statnews.comUNCLASSIFIED
  • theguardian.comINDEP

References

  • upi.comMother 'invested' in Lindsay Clancy trial charged in murder of toddlerScreenshot as publishedOriginalcaptured 2026-09-06T12:55:30
  • bbc.co.ukLindsay Clancy murder trial has divided US on whether she's victim or criminalScreenshot as publishedOriginalcaptured 2026-09-06T12:55:30
  • cbc.caJudge declares mistrial in Lindsay Clancy’s murder trial after emergency appeal deniedOriginalNo durable copy — do not citecaptured 2026-09-05T20:22:38
  • cbsnews.comLindsay Clancy murder case ends in mistrial after SJC denies emergency appealScreenshot as publishedOriginalcaptured 2026-09-05T20:22:38
  • dailymail.comThe haunting similarities Lindsay Clancy murder trial has with case of Irish mother who killed her three young childrenScreenshot as publishedOriginalcaptured 2026-09-06T12:55:30
  • dailywire.comLindsay Clancy Trial Ends In Mistrial After Defense’s Hail Mary AttemptScreenshot as publishedOriginalcaptured 2026-09-05T20:22:38
  • foxnews.comPatrick Clancy speaks out after hung jury in Lindsay Clancy case, addresses prospect of another trialScreenshot as publishedOriginalcaptured 2026-09-06T12:55:30
  • rte.ieMistrial declared in Clancy murder trial, jury dischargedScreenshot as publishedOriginalcaptured 2026-09-05T20:22:38
  • statnews.comLindsay Clancy case exposes dangers of fragmented U.S. health system, experts sayScreenshot as publishedOriginalcaptured 2026-09-06T12:55:30
  • theguardian.comA look inside the courtroom during the Lindsay Clancy murder trial – videoScreenshot as publishedOriginalcaptured 2026-09-06T12:55:30

Carried by multiple outlets

  • Judge William Sullivan declared a mistrial in Lindsay Clancy's murder trial on Saturday, September 5, 2026cbc.ca, cbsnews.com, dailymail.com, dailywire.com, foxnews.com, rte.ie
  • The jury was unable to reach a unanimous verdictcbc.ca, cbsnews.com, dailymail.com, dailywire.com, foxnews.com, rte.ie
  • Lindsay Clancy is 36 years oldbbc.co.uk, dailymail.com, rte.ie
  • Clancy is charged with murdering her three children: Cora (5), Dawson (3), and Callan (8 months)dailymail.com, foxnews.com
  • The children were killed on January 24, 2023dailymail.com, foxnews.com
  • Defence argued Clancy was suffering from postpartum psychosis and could not be held criminally responsiblebbc.co.uk, dailymail.com
  • and 7 more, not shown

Reported by one outlet only

  • Corie A. Walsh, 40, of Frankfort, Illinois, was charged on Saturday, September 5, 2026, with three counts of first-degree murder of her 2-year-old son, Barrett Walshonly upi.com
  • Prosecutors said Corie A. Walsh had 'recently become very invested in the Lindsay Clancy murder trial' and had been 'actively discussing the case' in group text messages with friends hours before her child was found deadonly upi.com
  • Barrett Walsh was found hanging in a basement while his mother was in a bathtub upstairs attempting suicideonly upi.com
  • Police found Corie A. Walsh in a bathtub 'surrounded by bloody water' with cuts to her wrists and thighsonly upi.com
  • Walsh told police 'she did this to her baby because he was the 'devil' and the 'anti-Christ'only upi.com
  • Walsh's husband was out of townonly upi.com

Reported unevenly

  • Hours of jury deliberation and number of deliberation daysstated by cbsnews.com reports 'more than 36 hours' over 'seven days', dailywire.com reports 'around 38 hours'
  • Jury composition: gender breakdownstated by dailywire.com reports 'nine-woman, three-man jury' · absent from cbc.ca, cbsnews.com, rte.ie (which state only 12-member jury without gender breakdown)
  • Number of times jury reported deadlockstated by cbc.ca states 'three different times', cbsnews.com states 'for a third time', dailywire.com states 'for the third time', rte.ie does not specify
  • Jury verdict preferencestated by rte.ie reports 'Eleven jurors were in favour of finding the 36-year-old Ms Clancy not guilty by reason of insanity, but they were opposed by a single member' · absent from All other outlets discussing the jury composition omit whether the 11 or 1 juror favored acquittal or conviction
  • Description of the defence attorney's emergency appealstated by cbsnews.com calls it 'last-minute', dailywire.com calls it a 'last-ditch effort' and a 'Hail Mary Attempt' (in headline) · absent from cbc.ca calls it 'eleventh-hour emergency appeal'

Not yet confirmed against a primary source

  • Confirm that the jury composition in the Lindsay Clancy trial was nine women and three men, as reported by Daily Wire, since no other outlet in this cluster specifies or contradicts this detail. If confirmed, six other outlets omitted gender breakdown; if not, Daily Wire erred.
  • Clarify the jury's vote distribution in the mistrial, as RTE reports 'eleven jurors were in favour of finding...Clancy not guilty by reason of insanity, but...opposed by a single member' while all other outlets omit this specificity. RTE's claim that 11 voted acquittal and 1 voted conviction (or vice versa) is inconsistent with news reports elsewhere suggesting the split was evenly close—verify RTE's source and accuracy.
  • Reconcile trial duration: BBC states 'nearly seven weeks,' Daily Mail and RTE state 'five weeks.' Verify from court records when jury selection began, when opening statements occurred, and when closing arguments ended, as these mark different endpoints and may explain the discrepancy.

What was checked, and against what

1 of 1 confirmed against a primary source. 2 cannot be established from public sources and are listed below. Every document is linked so you can read the same record we did. Anything not confirmed is listed as such rather than left out.

  • checked Reconcile trial duration: BBC states 'nearly seven weeks,' Daily Mail and RTE state 'five weeks.' Verify from court records when jury selection began, when opening statements occurred, and when closing arguments ended, as these mark different endpoints and may explain the discrepancy.BBC · establishes that the outlet published it · The discrepancy in the trial's duration stems from whether the count encompasses the entire judicial proceeding, from jury selection to the mistrial declaration, or is restricted strictly to the evidentiary phase of active testimony. The broader timeline spans 47 calendar days from the start of jury selection on July 20, 2026, to the mistrial on September 4, 2026, which accounts for the characterization of nearly seven weeks. · 2026-09-06
  • cannot be established If confirmed, six other outlets omitted gender breakdown; if not, Daily Wire erred.The outlets differ in transliteration, rounding or units rather than in substance. Both statements describe the same fact, so there is no discrepancy for a source to settle.
  • cannot be established Clarify the jury's vote distribution in the mistrial, as RTE reports 'eleven jurors were in favour of finding...Clancy not guilty by reason of insanity, but...opposed by a single member' while all other outlets omit this specificity. RTE's claim that 11 voted acquittal and 1 voted conviction (or vice versa) is inconsistent with news reports elsewhere suggesting the split was evenly close—verify RTE's source and accuracy.The outlets differ in transliteration, rounding or units rather than in substance. Both statements describe the same fact, so there is no discrepancy for a source to settle.