sellmefear
← all entries

OUTLETS DISAGREEMonday 14 September 2026

Outlets disagree: Total number of people detained

dw.com (162 arrested; Justice Minister said 162 suspects under investigation); upi.com (47 people detained; but also reports 26+21=47 from prosecutors, with Kaos GL…; aljazeera.com (at least 60 detained; state news… the full text

As published

8 pages captured at the time, in each outlet's own typography. Open one to read the copy held outside the publisher's control.

What this entry found

  • OUTLETS DISAGREE

    Number of provinces targeted by raids

    • dw.com (15 provinces mentioned for judicial proceedings)
    • upi.com (12 provinces)
    • bbc.co.uk (12 provinces)
    the full text
  • OUTLETS DISAGREE

    Number of associations and businesses under investigation

    • dw.com (9 associations and 13 businesses)
    • aljazeera.com (9 associations and 13 businesses)
    the full text
  • ONLY ONE OUTLET HAD THIS

    rte.ie carried 5 details no other outlet reported.

    • Lawyer Levent Piskin's X account was among those blocked
    • The blocked X accounts were followed by tens of thousands of people
    • President Recep Tayyip Erdogan has previously lashed the LGBTQ+ community as a 'deviant movement' of 'perverts'
    • In June 2026, Turkey blocked some 40 X accounts linked to feminist or LGBTQ groups
    • Last year, Turkish authorities persuaded X to block more than 700 accounts critical of authorities during protests triggered by the arrest of Istanbul's opposition mayor, Ekrem Imamoglu
7independent outlets
What happened, for context

Turkish police conducted nationwide raids over the weekend of September 13-14, 2026, targeting LGBTQ+ organizations, gay bars, and activists' homes as part of a government campaign called 'My Family is Safe.' The operations resulted in multiple detention figures ranging from 47 to 162, with authorities blocking websites and social media accounts of LGBTQ+ groups and seizing drugs, equipment, and weapons. Turkish authorities framed the crackdown as protecting families and children, while human rights organizations characterized it as state-led discrimination.

6 of 8 articles were readable. Headline only, no body text retrieved, for: france24.com, france24.com. Nothing below is drawn from those outlets beyond their headline.

Who reported it

  • dw.comPUBLIC
  • france24.comPUBLIC
  • i24news.tvUNCLASSIFIED
  • rte.iePUBLIC
  • upi.comWIRE
  • aljazeera.comINDEP
  • bbc.co.ukPUBLIC
  • france24.comPUBLIC

References

Carried by multiple outlets

  • Raids targeting LGBTQ+ organizations, gay bars, and homes of LGBTQ+ activists occurred over the weekend (September 14-15, 2026)dw.com, i24news.tv, upi.com, aljazeera.com, bbc.co.uk
  • The operations are called or referred to as 'My Family is Safe' campaignupi.com, aljazeera.com, bbc.co.uk
  • Kaos GL, a prominent LGBTQ+ rights organization, was targeteddw.com, i24news.tv, rte.ie, upi.com, aljazeera.com, bbc.co.uk
  • Websites and social media accounts of LGBTQ+ organizations were blockeddw.com, i24news.tv, rte.ie, upi.com, aljazeera.com, bbc.co.uk
  • Drugs, digital equipment, smuggled alcohol, and a firearm/gun were seizeddw.com, upi.com, bbc.co.uk
  • Justice Minister Akin Gurlek issued a statement about the operationsdw.com, upi.com, aljazeera.com, bbc.co.uk
  • and 3 more, not shown

Reported by one outlet only

  • Kaos GL claimed the government cut access to dozens of websites and social media accounts belonging to associate groups and rights advocatesonly dw.com
  • Istanbul prosecutors found evidence indicating children and minors were being inappropriately swayed on issues tied to sexual orientation and gender identityonly dw.com
  • A Seventh Criminal Peace Court in Istanbul ordered the blocking of specific websites including Kaos GL, 17 May, ÜniKuir, Pink Life, SPoD, Genç LGBTİ+, Lambda Istanbul, and Muamma LGBTİ+only i24news.tv
  • Access to X platform accounts was already blocked from within Turkey, while some Instagram restrictions had not yet been implementedonly i24news.tv
  • Lawyer Levent Piskin's X account was among those blockedonly rte.ie
  • The blocked X accounts were followed by tens of thousands of peopleonly rte.ie

Reported unevenly

  • Total number of people detainedstated by dw.com (162 arrested; Justice Minister said 162 suspects under investigation), upi.com (47 people detained; but also reports 26+21=47 from prosecutors, with Kaos GL claiming 50), aljazeera.com (at least 60 detained; state news Anadolu quoted prosecutors saying at least 63), bbc.co.uk (47 people detained: 26 from Istanbul, 21 from Ankara) · absent from i24news.tv (does not specify total number of detainees), rte.ie (does not specify number of detainees)
  • Number of provinces targeted by raidsstated by dw.com (15 provinces mentioned for judicial proceedings), upi.com (12 provinces), bbc.co.uk (12 provinces) · absent from i24news.tv (does not specify number of provinces), aljazeera.com (names major cities but does not specify total provinces)
  • Number of associations and businesses under investigationstated by dw.com (9 associations and 13 businesses), aljazeera.com (9 associations and 13 businesses) · absent from upi.com (mentions 'a number of organizations and companies' without specific count), bbc.co.uk (does not specify number of associations/businesses)
  • Kaos GL's claim about number of detained activistsstated by upi.com (Kaos GL said 50 activists were detained, with 10 detained over their homes being raided), bbc.co.uk (Kaos GL said 50 activists had been detained, more than 10 taken after police raids on their homes)

Not yet confirmed against a primary source

  • Detention figure discrepancy: dw.com reports 162 arrested or under investigation; upi.com/bbc.co.uk report 47 detained (26 in Istanbul + 21 in Ankara); aljazeera.com reports 60-63 detained per Anadolu Agency. Clarify whether these are distinct populations (arrested vs. detained vs. suspects under investigation) or genuine disagreement on total affected. What is the distinction between 'arrested,' 'detained,' and 'suspects under investigation' as Turkish authorities used these terms in their statements?
  • Province count: dw.com states 15 provinces; upi.com and bbc.co.uk state 12 provinces. Are these referring to the same raids, or did authorities issue statements using different geographic parameters?
  • Kaos GL detention claim (50 activists) versus official figures (26 or 21 or 47): Does Kaos GL's figure include people not formally arrested/detained but affected by home raids or other interventions? Verify against statements from Kaos GL or Turkish authorities.