sellmefear
← all entries

OUTLETS DISAGREESaturday 19 September 2026

Outlets disagree: Time since last property tax rate increase

ksat.com (34 years, implying last increase in 1992); news4sanantonio.com (does not specify exact timeframe); sa.gov (more than 30 years) the full text

As published

4 pages captured at the time, in each outlet's own typography. Open one to read the copy held outside the publisher's control.

Attributed to no one

Quoted verbatim from each outlet's own page. This site records what was published and who it was attributed to. It does not assess whether the claim is true.

news4sanantonio.com

  • "Consider that in hiking taxes, it will eventually affect you, your children, your grandchildren, great-grandchildren, and their future in owning a home or any kind of property," one speaker said during public comment.
  • Another speaker said, "Nobody wants to see a tax increase. But nobody wants to maintain a record year after year of not increasing taxes if it means that we are destroying the future of the City of San Antonio."

named elsewhere in the same article: Mayor Gina Ortiz-Jones

What this entry found

  • ONLY ONE OUTLET HAD THIS

    ksat.com carried 7 details no other outlet reported.

    • The vote was 7-4
    • The projected budget deficit is $158 million over the next two years
    • The city's plan involves a total of two property tax increases that would raise the city rate by about 8.5%, with only the first 3.9% hike voted on Thursday
    • The average homestead with a taxable value of $231,356 would pay roughly $49 more on their 2026 property tax bill
    • Senior and disabled homeowners with a tax freeze, roughly 47% of all homesteads in the city, will be unaffected by the increase
    • Marina Alderete Gavito (D7) and Misty Spears (D9) voted against the tax rate
    • Edward Mungia (D4) supported the tax increase
4independent outlets
What happened, for context

San Antonio's city council voted on September 17, 2026, to approve a property tax rate increase, the first in more than 30 years. The vote was 7-4, and the increase was 3.9%, effective October 1, 2026. The increase is part of the city's effort to address a projected budget deficit.

3 of 4 articles were readable. Headline only, no body text retrieved, for: kens5.com. Nothing below is drawn from those outlets beyond their headline.

Who reported it

  • kens5.comINDEP
  • ksat.comINDEP
  • news4sanantonio.comUNCLASSIFIED
  • sa.govUNCLASSIFIED

References

Carried by multiple outlets

  • San Antonio city council voted to approve a property tax rate increase on September 17, 2026ksat.com, news4sanantonio.com, sa.gov
  • The increase is the first property tax rate increase in more than 30 yearsksat.com, news4sanantonio.com, sa.gov
  • The property tax rate increase is 3.9%ksat.com, news4sanantonio.com, sa.gov
  • The increase takes effect October 1, 2026news4sanantonio.com, sa.gov
  • Mayor Gina Ortiz Jones voted against the tax increaseksat.com, sa.gov
  • Marc Whyte (D10) voted against the tax increaseksat.com, sa.gov
  • and 1 more, not shown

Reported by one outlet only

  • The vote was 7-4only ksat.com
  • The projected budget deficit is $158 million over the next two yearsonly ksat.com
  • The city's plan involves a total of two property tax increases that would raise the city rate by about 8.5%, with only the first 3.9% hike voted on Thursdayonly ksat.com
  • The average homestead with a taxable value of $231,356 would pay roughly $49 more on their 2026 property tax billonly ksat.com
  • Senior and disabled homeowners with a tax freeze, roughly 47% of all homesteads in the city, will be unaffected by the increaseonly ksat.com
  • Marina Alderete Gavito (D7) and Misty Spears (D9) voted against the tax rateonly ksat.com

Reported unevenly

  • Time since last property tax rate increasestated by ksat.com (34 years, implying last increase in 1992), news4sanantonio.com (does not specify exact timeframe), sa.gov (more than 30 years)

Not yet confirmed against a primary source

  • Reconcile the timeline discrepancy: ksat.com states the last increase was in 1992 (34 years ago from 2026), while sa.gov uses the vaguer 'more than 30 years.' Confirm whether the prior increase occurred in 1992 by checking San Antonio's official budget records or council minutes from that year.

What was checked, and against what

Nothing here could be settled from a primary source. 1 cannot be established from public sources and is listed below. Every document is linked so you can read the same record we did. Anything not confirmed is listed as such rather than left out.

  • cannot be established Reconcile the timeline discrepancy: ksat.com states the last increase was in 1992 (34 years ago from 2026), while sa.gov uses the vaguer 'more than 30 years.' Confirm whether the prior increase occurred in 1992 by checking San Antonio's official budget records or council minutes from that year.The difference does not bear on anything this entry claims. It is recorded here so the reader can see it was noticed and set aside deliberately.