What this entry found
- OUTLETS DISAGREE
The timing of the CEO transition
- upi.com states 'eight months after'
- bbc.co.uk states 'nine months after'
- OUTLETS DISAGREE
Company valuation: upi.com states $1.2 trillion, while bbc.co.uk states $1.1 trillion (£822b)
- upi.com: $1.2 trillion
- bbc.co.uk: $1.1 trillion
- ONLY ONE OUTLET HAD THIS
bbc.co.uk carried 6 details no other outlet reported.
- BBC states the company has a $1.1 trillion valuation (£822b)
- Berkshire Hathaway owns GEICO car insurance, Dairy Queen, and BNSF railway system
- Berkshire owns large stakes in Apple and Coca-Cola
- Buffett famously drinks five cans of Coca-Cola a day
- Buffett's strategy is 'value investing' focused on finding companies with solid fundamentals, buying them at fair prices, and holding them for decades
- Howard Buffett has been a director since 1993
Warren Buffett, 96, has stepped down as chairman of Berkshire Hathaway, effective immediately, handing the role to his son Howard. Buffett will assume the title of chairman emeritus and remain on the board. The move follows his transition of the CEO role to Greg Abel in May 2025.
Who reported it
- upi.comWIRE
- axios.comINDEP
- bbc.co.ukPUBLIC
- cnbc.comUNCLASSIFIED
- dailywire.comPARTISAN
References
- upi.comWarren Buffett steps down from chairmanship of Berkshire HathawayScreenshot as publishedOriginalcaptured 2026-09-19T15:58:25
- axios.comWarren Buffett steps down as Berkshire Hathaway chairmanScreenshot as publishedOriginalcaptured 2026-09-18T11:56:11
- bbc.co.ukWarren Buffett steps down after six decades at BerkshireScreenshot as publishedOriginalcaptured 2026-09-19T15:58:25
- cnbc.comBuffett takes next step in plan to keep Berkshire from strayingScreenshot as publishedOriginalcaptured 2026-09-19T15:58:25
- dailywire.comWarren Buffett Steps Down, Says ‘Father Time Always Wins’Screenshot as publishedOriginalcaptured 2026-09-19T15:58:25
Carried by multiple outlets
- Warren Buffett stepped down as chairman of Berkshire Hathaway effective immediatelyupi.com, axios.com, bbc.co.uk, cnbc.com, dailywire.com
- His son Howard Buffett became chairmanupi.com, axios.com, bbc.co.uk, cnbc.com, dailywire.com
- Warren Buffett will serve as chairman emeritusupi.com, axios.com, bbc.co.uk, cnbc.com, dailywire.com
- Warren Buffett will remain on the boardupi.com, axios.com, bbc.co.uk, cnbc.com
- Warren Buffett is 96 years oldupi.com, bbc.co.uk, cnbc.com
- Buffett took control of Berkshire Hathaway in 1965upi.com, bbc.co.uk, cnbc.com
- and 2 more, not shown
Reported by one outlet only
- Berkshire Hathaway has nearly 400,000 employeesonly upi.com
- Berkshire Hathaway has a $1.2 trillion valuationonly upi.com
- BBC states the company has a $1.1 trillion valuation (£822b)only bbc.co.uk
- Buffett delivered a compounded annual return just shy of 20%, outperforming the S&P 500 by a factor of two over the period from 1965 to presentonly upi.com
- Berkshire has beaten the S&P by nearly 10 percentage points since 1965, but in the last decade has lagged the index by about half a pointonly axios.com
- Berkshire shares were flat in pre-market trading on the newsonly axios.com
Reported unevenly
- The timing of the CEO transition: whether it occurred 'eight months' before the chairman step-down (upi.com) or 'nine months' (bbc.co.uk), given the articles were published September 18-19, 2026, and the CEO transition occurred in May 2025stated by upi.com states 'eight months after', bbc.co.uk states 'nine months after' · absent from axios.com does not specify the duration, cnbc.com does not specify the duration, dailywire.com does not specify the duration
- Company valuation: upi.com states $1.2 trillion, while bbc.co.uk states $1.1 trillion (£822b)stated by upi.com: $1.2 trillion, bbc.co.uk: $1.1 trillion · absent from axios.com, cnbc.com, dailywire.com
Not yet confirmed against a primary source
- Verify whether the CEO transition occurred in May 2025 (8 or 9 months before September 2026 publication). upi.com's 'eight months' would place the announcement in January 2026; bbc.co.uk's 'nine months' would place it in December 2025. Which date is correct?
What was checked, and against what
Nothing here could be settled from a primary source. 1 cannot be established from public sources and is listed below. Every document is linked so you can read the same record we did. Anything not confirmed is listed as such rather than left out.
- cannot be established upi.com's 'eight months' would place the announcement in January 2026; bbc.co.uk's 'nine months' would place it in December 2025. Which date is correct?The disagreement between outlets is itself the finding. No primary source is needed to report that they differ.




